The Graduate School provides free access to a webinar series for all doctoral researchers. These offer research and professional skills training in a live-taught format. You will find that they complement the tailored, interactive face-to-face workshops in the DRDP and will be particularly helpful to those following the Distance Learning study mode or those studying part time who cannot always attend workshops due to other commitments. These webinars take place either between 7pm and 9pm or 10am-12pm.

There is a wide range of topics to choose from (62 sessions in total), which are organised into themed modules. You don’t have to attend a whole module, you can sign up for individual sessions from any module. As with the face-to-face workshops, some topics will be of more relevance at certain stages of your doctoral programme.

Webinar Software

You must download the required software (Electa-live) and you must book in advance. The software is free to the user and can be accessed direct from the Electa website.

The software can be downloaded to a PC, laptop, tablet, or even a smart phone. It is your responsibility to ensure you have the software ready in advance of the webinar. We recommend that you use a personal device because downloads to a work computer will require the university’s IT department to install it for you.

Booking

BOOKINGS FOR THE FIRST SESSION OPEN ON 14th SEPTEMBER

The webinars are extremely popular and waiting lists may operate. Please be considerate to those who may be on a waiting list and cancel in good time if you find that you are no longer able to take part.

In the 2021-22 academic year, all sessions will open for booking THREE WEEKS BEFORE THEY ARE DUE TO RUN. When you access a specific session in the schedule below and go to ‘Book this Session’, it will tell you that the session is ‘available to book’ after a particular date and time.  If you wish to attend, therefore, you will have to be ‘clued in’, access this website regularly, and generally be prepared! This little extra effort will, however, mean that places are available for PGRs to book all year round.

If you have any problems with any aspect of your booking, please e-mail [simon.d.watts@uea.ac.uk] and/or [ssf.advancedtraining@uea.ac.uk] and he we will be happy to help.

BOOKING LINK: https://bookwhen.com/ueaonlinetraining

HANDBOOK Online Training for PGR’s (FP) 2021-22

Modules

Here is an overview of the webinars organised into modules by theme. You may find it helpful to identify, perhaps with your DoS or School DRDP Coordinator, which individual sessions would be most helpful to you in your current year of study. For example, a doctoral researcher in the first year of study will be working on a literature review, honing their writing skills and exploring research methods, so sessions 1 and 2 in Module 1 and certain sessions in Modules 2 and 5 would be very relevant. Session 4 will be helpful in any year of study but may provide additional, specific support to those who are writing up, as will session 1 of Module 3. If you are interested in teaching, or already have some experience of teaching you will find the Module 4 sessions to be interesting and supportive. These sessions may therefore be relevant in any year of study.

Schedule of Sessions for 2021/22
Date Module Name Time Page
Tues 5th Oct 1. Writing What Should a Literature Review Do? 7pm-9pm 7
Wed 6th Oct 1. Writing What Should a Literature Review Do? 7pm-9pm 7
Thurs 7th Oct 1. Writing What Should a Literature Review Do? 7pm-9pm 7
Tues 12th Oct 1. Writing Writing Effectively 7pm-9pm 8
Wed 13th Oct 1. Writing Writing Effectively 7pm-9pm 8
Thurs 14th Oct 1. Writing Writing Effectively 7pm-9pm 8
Tues 19th Oct 1. Writing Academic Publishing 7pm-9pm 9
Weds 20th Oct 1. Writing Academic Publishing 7pm-9pm 9
Thurs 21st Oct 1. Writing Writing & Structuring an Effective Thesis 7pm-9pm 10
Tues 26th Oct 1. Writing Writing & Structuring an Effective Thesis 7pm-9pm 10
Thurs 28th Oct 1. Writing Writing & Structuring an Effective Thesis 7pm-9pm 10
Tues 2rd Nov 2. Qual. A Comparison of Qualitative Methods 7pm-9pm 11
Thurs 4th Nov 2. Qual. Qualitative Interviewing 7pm-9pm 12
Tues 9th Nov 2. Qual. Analysing Qualitative Data 7pm-9pm 13
Thurs 11th Nov 2. Qual. Using NVivo for Qualitative Research 7pm-9pm 14
Tues 16th Nov 1. Writing What Should a Literature Review Do? 10am-12pm 7
Tues 16th Nov 2. Qual. A Comparison of Qualitative Methods 7pm-9pm 11
Weds 17th Nov 1. Writing Writing Effectively 10am-12pm 8
Thurs 18th Nov 1. Writing Academic Publishing 10am-12pm 9
Thurs 18th Nov 2. Qual. Qualitative Interviewing 7pm-9pm 12
Tues 23rd Nov 1. Writing Writing & Structuring an Effective Thesis 10am-12pm 9
Tues 23rd Nov 2. Qual. Analysing Qualitative Data 7pm-9pm 13
Thurs 25th Nov 2. Qual. Using NVivo for Qualitative Research 7pm-9pm 14
Tues 30th Nov 3. Finishing Preparing for your Viva 7pm-9pm 15
Weds 1st Dec 3. Finishing On the Job: Securing a First Academic Post 7pm-9pm 16
Tues 7th Dec 3. Finishing Preparing Impactful Research Proposals & Grant Applications 7pm-9pm 17
Weds 8th Dec 4. Teaching Preparing & Delivering Seminars 7pm-9pm 18
Tues 14th Dec 4. Teaching Preparing & Delivering Lectures 7pm-9pm 19
Weds 15th Dec 4. Teaching Assessment, Feedback, & Module Design 7pm-9pm 20
XMAS BREAK
Tues 11th Jan 2. Qual. A Comparison of Qualitative Methods 10am-12pm 11
Tues 11th Jan 1. Writing What Should a Literature Review Do? 7pm-9pm 7
Wed 12th Jan 2. Qual. Qualitative Interviewing 10mm-12pm 12
Tues 18th Jan 2. Qual. Analysing Qualitative Data 10am-12pm 13
Tues 18th Jan 1. Writing Writing Effectively 7pm-9pm 8
Wed 19th Jan 2. Qual. Using NVivo for Qualitative Research 10am-12pm 14
Tues 25th Jan 1. Writing Academic Publishing 7pm-9pm 9
Tues 1st Feb 1. Writing Writing & Structuring an Effective Thesis 7pm-9pm 10
Tues 8th Feb 1. Writing What Should a Literature Review Do? 10am-12pm 7
Tues 8th Feb 2. Qual. A Comparison of Qualitative Methods 7pm-9pm 11
Wed  9th Feb 1. Writing Writing Effectively 10am-12pm 8
Tues 15th Feb 1. Writing Academic Publishing 10am-12pm 9
Tues 15th Feb 2. Qual. Qualitative Interviewing 7pm-9pm 12
Wed 16th Feb 1. Writing Writing & Structuring an Effective Thesis 10am-12pm 10
Tues 22nd Feb 2. Qual. Analysing Qualitative Data 7pm-9pm 13
Wed 23rd Feb 3. Finishing Preparing for your Viva 7pm-9pm 15
Tues 1st Mar 2. Qual. Using NVivo for Qualitative Research 7pm-9pm 14
Weds 2nd Mar 3. Finishing On the Job: Securing a First Academic Post 7pm-9pm 16
Tues 8th Mar 3. Finishing Preparing Impactful Research Proposals & Grant Applications 7pm-9pm 17
Tues 15th Mar 1. Writing What Should a Literature Review Do? 10am-12pm 7
Tues 15th Mar 4. Teaching Preparing & Delivering Seminars 7pm-9pm 18
Wed 16th Mar 1. Writing Writing Effectively 10am-12pm 8
Tues 22nd Mar 1. Writing Academic Publishing 10am-12pm 9
Tues 22nd Mar 4. Teaching Preparing & Delivering Lectures 7pm-9pm 19
Wed 23rd Mar 1. Writing Writing & Structuring an Effective Thesis 10am-12pm 10
Tues 29th Mar 3. Finishing Preparing for your Viva 10am-12pm 15
Tues 29th Mar 4. Teaching Assessment, Feedback, & Module Design 7pm-9pm 20
Wed 30th Mar 3. Finishing On the Job: Securing a First Academic Post 10am-12pm 16
Wed 30th Mar 5. Quant Quantitative Research: A Basic Guide 7pm-9pm 21
Tues 5th Apr 3. Finishing Preparing Impactful Research Proposals & Grant Applications 10am-12pm 17
Tues 5th Apr 5. Quant Introduction to Scale Development 7pm-9pm 22
Wed 6th Apr 5. Quant Intro. to Structural Equation Modelling 7pm-9pm 23
EASTER BREAK
Tues 26th Apr 2. Qual. A Comparison of Qualitative Methods 7pm-9pm 11
Wed 27th Apr 2. Qual. Qualitative Interviewing 7pm-9pm 12
Tues 3rd May 2. Qual. Analysing Qualitative Data 7pm-9pm 13
Weds 4th May 2. Qual. Using NVivo for Qualitative Research 7pm-9pm 14
Tues 10th May 3. Finishing Preparing for your Viva 7pm-9pm 15
Wed 11th May 5. Quant Quantitative Research: A Basic Guide 10am-12pm 21
Wed 18th May 5. Quant Introduction to Scale Development 10am-12pm 22
Wed 25th May 5. Quant Intro. to Structural Equation Modelling 10am-12pm 23

University of Westminster
309 Regent Street, London W1B 2UW
General enquiries: +44 (0)20 7911 5000
Course enquiries: +44 (0)20 7915 5511

The University of Westminster is a charity and a company limited by guarantee.
Registration number: 977818 England
Accessibility | Cookies | Terms of use and privacy